Kenya has a number of universities and other institutions of higher learning. There are 22 public universities, 14 chartered private universities and 13 universities with Letter of Interim Authority (LIA).

These universities are established through institutional Acts of Parliament under the Universities Act, 2012 which provides for the development of university education, the establishment, accreditation and governance of universities. According to a 2004 report on reforming higher education in Kenya, the rapid expansion of university education in the country was a spontaneous response to the increasing demand for higher education necessitated by the increasing flow of students from schools.

From July 2014, all government and private institutions offering technical and vocational education and training were put under TVET (Technical and Vocational Education and Training). This act normalized this sector as it had become tainted by unaccredited institutions offering substandard education as revealed by The Standard and The Star. As of October 10, 2016 there were 540 institutions accredited by the Authority.


List of Universities in Kenya

Tags: , , , , , , ,